MSUB City College E-Learning Workshops

Please contact Andy Sullivan at andrew.sullivan3@msubillings.edu if I might be able to help you with your E-Learning needs. As part of the E-Learning group at MSUB, our goals are:

E-Learning Group Focus and Goals:

  1. Continuous improvement of education both online and in person.
  2. Act as a collaborative sharing center where instructors can benefit from best practices across the University. Work to find ways to apply practices to the unique teaching challenges of a hands-on technical college.
  3. Help instructors understand what tools are available and their value.
  4. Increase comfort level and expertise with online learning considering the unique students and teaching demands of a 2-year technical college.
  5. Act as a resource to help instructors with less experience or without educational methods training to understand the elements of effective online and in person courses.

E-Learning Workshop Plans

E-Learning Workshop Schedule and Minutes (Spring 2021)

Date Time Location Focus Topic
Thu Jan 14, 202109:10 AMWebExMake a welcome widget in D2L (Meeting Minutes) (Create a welcome widget instructions)
Fri Jan 22, 202103:00 PMWebExDescriptions for D2L content navigation (Add meeting to Calendar)
Mon Feb 1, 202109:10 AMWebExInteractive PowerPoint for +engagement (Add meeting to Calendar)
Tue Feb 9, 202110:20 AMWebExTricks for setting up gradebook in D2L (Add meeting to Calendar)
Wed Feb 17, 202103:00 PMWebExGreen screens, Chroma key, & floating heads (Add meeting to Calendar)
Thu Feb 25, 202110:20 AMWebExBetter assessment with unique D2L quizzes (Add meeting to Calendar)
Fri Mar 5, 202103:00 PMWebExVirtual Classrooms and Virtual Labs (Add meeting to Calendar)
Mon Mar 15, 202109:10 AMWebExIntro to Blender for 3D teaching aids (Add meeting to Calendar)
Tue Mar 23, 202103:00 PMTech A062Make and use a DIY light board (Add meeting to Calendar)
Web Mar 31, 202109:10 AMWebExOnline cross-college collaboration experience (Add meeting to Calendar)
Thu Apr 8, 202103:00 PMWebEx360° demonstrations with Marzipano (Add meeting to Calendar)

E-Learning Workshop Schedule and Minutes (Fall 2020)

Date Time Location Focus Topic
Thu Aug 13, 202009:00 AMTech A070Covid-19 Learning and Best Practices (Meeting Minutes)
Fri Aug 14, 202002:00 PMHS 219MSUB Core Principles of Quality (Meeting Minutes)
Mon Aug 24, 202004:00 PMTech A070How to setup the gradebook in D2L (Meeting Minutes)
Tue Sep 1, 202011:30 AMHS 219Building online assessment (Meeting Minutes)
Wed Sep 9, 202011:30 AMTech A070Supplementing with online content (Meeting Minutes)
Thu Sep 17, 202009:00 AMHS 219Audio and video lecture recording strategies (Meeting Minutes)
Fri Sep 25, 202003:00 PMTech A070Moving a lecture online (Meeting Minutes)
Mon Oct 5, 202011:30 AMTech A070How to manage cheating (Meeting Minutes)
Tue Oct 13, 202004:00 PMTech A070Online replacements for hands-on work (Meeting Minutes)
Thu Oct 29, 202011:30 AMWebExTools to make a good video lesson (Meeting Minutes)
Fri Nov 6, 202003:00 PMWebExCaptioning and universal design (Meeting Minutes)